CONTACT US ACCOUNT

               

Frequently Asked Questions

Question: What size are the evergreen seedlings?

Answer: The evergreen seedlings are sold in plastic containers that are 8.25 inches deep and 1.5 inches in diameter (10 in3 root volume). The seedlings are typically 12 to 18 inches tall when shipped, depending on species.

  _________________________

Question: What is a bareroot seedling?

Answer: A bareroot seedling has been grown outdoors and is dug out of the soil during the winter months shortly before shipping while the seedling is in a period of dormancy. It is shipped without soil and has "bare roots", as opposed to seedlings grown and shipped in containers.

   _________________________

Question: When will I receive my seedlings?

Answer: Seedlings are generally shipped from February through April, beginning in south Texas and progressing northward as temperatures increase.

   _________________________

Question: Why can't I get my seedlings now?

Answer: Bareroot seedlings must enter a period of winter dormancy before they are ready to be dug up and prepared for shipping. Similarly, some evergreen seedlings require additional time to increase root mass and reach a level of maturity before they will be ready for shipping and planting.

   _________________________

Question: Why are some trees or shrubs offered for sale one year then not the next year?

Answer: The West Texas Nursery produces all planting stock from seed, much of which is collected throughout the state. Some species produce a good crop of fruit (seed) every year while for other species it may only be every 3 years or so. Additionally, in some years seed quality may be poor or environmental factors may inhibit the production of seedlings that are fit to sell.

   _________________________

Question: How often do I need to water my seedlings after planting?

Answer: Watering frequency and duration can vary greatly based on many factors such as weather, soil type, and your region of the state. A general rule of thumb is that a newly planted tree should be watered 10 gallons per week for every inch in stem diameter. This should be done for at least the first 2 years after planting until the tree is well established. Better results are observed with fewer waterings of long duration that allow water to saturate deep into the soil as opposed to frequent, light waterings.

   _________________________

Question: I am interested in pine seedlings to be planted in East Texas. Where can I find those?

Answer: The West Texas Nursery currently does not offer East Texas pine seedlings. For a list of tree nurseries that may be able to provide seed sources and quantities that are appropriate for regeneration, please check out our short list of East Texas seedling suppliers.

   _________________________

Question: Who can I contact if I have questions about what trees are best suited for my part of the state?

Answer: The Texas A&M Forest Service has offices throughout the state with friendly folks who would be happy to answer any questions that you may have. Please use the following contact list and map as a guide to locating a forester in your region.

East Texas: John Warner; 936-273-2261; jwarner@tfs.tamu.edu 
North Central: Renee Burks; 254-435-2622; rburks@tfs.tamu.edu
South Central: Clay Bales; 512-339-7716; cbales@tfs.tamu.edu
South Texas: Mark Kroeze; 210-494-4771; mkroeze@tfs.tamu.edu
Panhandle: Brian Scott; 806-651-3477; bscott@tfs.tamu.edu
South High Plains: Jonathan Motsinger; 806-892-3572; jmotsinger@tfs.tamu.edu
Trans Pecos: Mickey Merritt; 832-260-5866; mmerritt@tfs.tamu.edu